Butterfly Life Cycle Stage

Butterfly Life Cycle Stage

A butterfly being one of the most advanced species in the insect family shows four different and distinct stages in its life cycle. This has tremendously helped entomologists and wildlife enthusiasts understand the beauty of evolution. They are termed as insects having a “complete” life cycle.

Given below is a crisp overview about the butterfly’s life cycle.

First stage:
The female firstly hatches an egg on a solid sturdy surface that is free from external threats and environmental changes. These eggs are generally round in shape, sometimes oval and/or cylindrical as well. They also have fine ribs on their surfaces. Leaves, stems, or any other solid object serves as a means for nesting and hatching eggs.

Second stage:
It takes six to seven days for the egg to hatch. A worm like creature will make its way out off the egg. It is called the larvae and looks pretty much like a worm. It can be green or yellow in color depending on the butterfly species. It has distinct patterns on its body surface. Stripes or patches are commonly observed. It also has spiky hairs on its surface. During this stage, the larva ends up munching on leaves vigorously. It also sheds its skin many times (four times or more). This process is called molting.

Third stage:
Here the larvae transforms into a pupa. It is generally green or brown in color. This period is a stage of hibernation. Here, the adult butterfly characteristics and organs begin to develop slowly.

Fourth stage:
Finally, the pupa becomes a colorful butterfly. It migrates to different places, forms colonies, mates and lays eggs all over again.

More Articles :

Butterfly Life Cycle Stage