How Many Delegates Signed The Constitution ?  

A total of thirty nine delegates from the different states of the US signed the Constitution on September 17, 1787. The Constitution of the US is a comprehensive document that contains a pre-defined set of rules, which ascertains the powers, responsibilities, organization, and functioning of the federal and state governments. It also defines clearly the various civil liberties and the fundamental rights enjoyed by the U.S. citizens.

The U.S. Constitution was signed by the members of the constitutional convention and officially declared ratified on 17 September 1787 in the Pennsylvania House or the Independence Hall. All the 13 US States, except Rhode Island, had participated in the Convention. A total of seventy delegates were collectively chosen by mutual consent of all states to attend the constitutional convention. While some delegates out of the seventy did not turn up in the Convention, some others refused to support the formation of a Constitution. Thus, the various sessions of the Constitutional Convention was finally attended by 55 delegates, out of which only 39 delegates actually approved and signed the constitution. This day is now celebrated as the Constitution Day every year to commemorate the ratification of the Constitution.

Some of the important delegates who signed the Constitution 17 September 1787 included Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, Jonathan Dayton of New Jersey, and George Washington. The first to sign the Constitution was President George Washington, who had presided over the Constitutional Convention. Thomas Jefferson did not sign it as he was posted as the US minister to France at that time. Delegates from Rhode Island and other delegates, such as Elbridge Gerry, George Mason, and Edmund Randolph, also refused to ratify the constitution. Delegates from all other states approved and signed the document, and the Constitution was finally declared ratified.

More Articles :




How Many Delegates Signed The Constitution

What-Current-Holiday-Was-Originally-Called-Constitution-Day      Citizenship Day, or September 17, currently observed as a national holiday in the United States, was originally called Constitution Day. The Constitution of the United States of America was signed and officially declared ratified by the Framers in the Constitutional Convention held on 17 September 1787. This day was a landmark in the history of the U.S. and began to be celebrated as the ‘Constitution Day’ on September 17 every year. More..




Home  • Bankruptcy Law   • Business Law  • Constitution Law • CopyRight Law   • Criminal LawEmployment Law   • Family Law   • Immigration Law   • Legal Dispute      • Malpractice   • Personal Injury   • Real Estate Law   • Tax Law   • Traffic Law   • Trust Law Legal News

How Many Delegates Signed The Constitution ? )
Copyright © 2012, All Rights Reserved.