Who Was The First To Sign The Constitution ?  

The Constitution was written and put forward in the House of the First Congress in the year 1787. However, it was ratified by all states and finally put into function as a suitable replacement of the Articles of Confederation in the year 1788. George Washington was the first person to sign the constitution.

It was eventually accepted as the highest or the supreme law that determines the enforcement of all other laws by the federal government.

The Constitutional Convention, in which the final draft of the Constitution was made and put forward for ratification, was organized on 17 September 1787 in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. It was attended by 55 delegates from all the 13 U.S. States, except Rhode Island. However, only 39 out of these 55 delegates ratified the constitution. While some rejected it because of the exclusion of the Bill of Rights, some others disapproved of it due to the conflicts between the federalists and the anti-federalists. Five representatives from Delaware were the first to ratify the constitution, after George Washington. They were followed by Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania, in that order. William Jackson finally signed the document to attest it.

James Madison, the Father of the U.S. Constitution, did not sign the Constitution as he was serving as the U.S. officer in France during that time. Other dignitaries who did not ratify the constitutional document included the representatives of Rhode Island, Samuel Adams, Patrick Henry, Thomas Paine, and John Adams. The youngest person to sign the constitution was Jonathan Dayton (26) of New Jersey, while the oldest one was Benjamin Franklin (81) of Pennsylvania.

More Articles :




Who Was The First To Sign The Constitution

Why-Is-The-Constitution-Important      The U.S. Constitution was documented and presented in the House of the First Congress for approval in the year 1787. It was finally ratified by all states, except Rhode Island, and put into effect as a suitable replacement of the Articles of Confederation in the year 1788. More..




Home  • Bankruptcy Law   • Business Law  • Constitution Law • CopyRight Law   • Criminal LawEmployment Law   • Family Law   • Immigration Law   • Legal Dispute      • Malpractice   • Personal Injury   • Real Estate Law   • Tax Law   • Traffic Law   • Trust Law Legal News

Who Was The First To Sign The Constitution ? )
Copyright © 2012  Rocketswag.com, All Rights Reserved.