Geneva Convention And The Rules Of War  

The term ‘Geneva Convention’ incorporates four treaties and three protocols defining the standards in international law for humanitarian treatment of war victims. When referred to in the singular connotation, the term ‘Geneva Convention’ signifies the agreements of 1949 collaborated as a consequence of the World War II.

The articles elaborate the fundamental rights of the captives, fortification of the wounded and civilians, in and around the region of war. A total of 194 countries all over the world have endorsed the treaties of 1949, in whole or with reservations.

Although a declared war or open armed conflict does, in essence, denote killing and blood shed, there are certain war crimes that are unacceptable. Every country in the world has signed some treaty or the other pertaining to the treatment of the war prisoners and casualties; and the protection of the civilians. Of these, the Hague Laws and the Geneva Convention are the most prominent. Apart from the basic issues of war crimes, these treaties also tackle aspects such as occupation by hostile forces and the status of cultural property.

The first Geneva Convention actually dates back to the year 1864. This conference is known to have covered the issues of protection of the wounded and the ill military forces in the war zone. This work was commenced by the International Committee for Relief to the Wounded, which today is referred to as the International Committee of the Red Cross. This committee believed in the principle of equality in treatment of the wounded irrespective of their national boundaries. However, the Geneva Conventions as on date today were established at the end of World War II in 1949.

In the year 1949, the assembly adopted four Geneva Conventions. The first was the Convention for the Amelioration of the Condition of the Wounded and Sick in Armed Forces in the Field; the second was the Convention for the Amelioration of the Condition of Wounded, Sick and Shipwrecked Members of Armed Forces at Sea; the third denoted the Convention Relative to the Treatment of Prisoners of War and the fourth one signified the Convention Relative to the Protection of Civilian Persons in Time of War.

The rules of war have been existent since ages. During the course of any military conflict, the two parties involved would set certain ground rules pertaining to what is permitted or not permitted during the encounter. However, these rules of war lasted only as long as the war did. It was only due to the Geneva Convention that the rules of war became a matter of international concern. The laws established by Geneva and The Hague surpass any particular conflict. As quoted in Hague IX, they attempt to diminish the severity and disasters of war in general.  

The Geneva Conventions oppose the conduct of any medical experiments on civilians as was carried out by the Nazis in World War II. Also, incidents such the one that occurred during the Iraq war in 2003, wherein after giving the signal of peace, the Iraqi soldiers attacked the forces of United States; is strictly prohibited by the Hague laws.

More Articles :

Geneva Convention And The Rules Of War




History-Of-The-Geneva-Convention      The history of the Geneva Convention dates back to the year 1859. That year a Swiss man named Henry Dunant was immensely appalled to witness the dreadful state of thousands of war casualties with no one to offer assistance. In 1862, Dunant published a book entitled; ‘Memoir of Solferino’ illustrating the terrors of war. Thereafter, he put forth two proposals. More..




Home  • Anti-Aging   • Assistive Technology  • Death & Funeral • Insurance   • GrandparentingFashion   • Medicine   • Retirement   • Senior Care  

Geneva Convention And The Rules Of War )
Copyright © 2012, All Rights Reserved.